About me

This supervisor has been approved to provide supervision under the ACCESS TO SUPERVISION PROJECT. If you are a supervisee who has received an approval email/letter from the CMHL you may contact this supervisor for supervision for this project, then follow the stated processes for supervision payment.

I worked as a nurse in my younger years and when we were posted overseas for my husband's work on the subcontinent I decided to study counselling. I completed that and a few years later returned to Australia where I undertook further study and part time work. Now, I work with various organisations offering supervision and counselling.

I am passionate about animals and do a fair bit of voluntary work fundraising for two charities. I love to learn so I am always up skilling my supervision and counselling knowledge for my own and my client's benefit.

I have the 'lived experience' of caring for my daughter who became unwell in her mid-teens and faced many mental health hurdles. Together, as a family, we weathered those years and my daughter is doing wonderfully now. I only wish is that I had had family peer support in those years.

My experience

I worked as a Family Peer Support Worker at Orygen Youth Health Inpatient Unit in Footscray for four years with the family peer support paradigm evolving greatly during that time. At the same time I worked as Carer Consultant at Alfred Aged Psychiatry in the in-patient unit and with the mobile assessment team. I stayed there for two and a half years. I was offered a position as Family Peer Support Worker at Headspace Bentleigh which was a wonderful opportunity to re-engage with youth work and families. I have now worked with this organisation for over four years with the mobile Assessment Team and the Continuing Care Team. I have absolutely loved all my work supporting families of all ages, sizes and demographics in these various organisations.

My current role/work

I am still working at headspace as a Family Peer Support Worker. I also supervise Masters students at Monash, private supervises and with two other organisations. I run a monthly support group at headspace. I work as a mental health counsellor and supervisor with The Grove and in my own business.

My training

I am training as a Dialectical Behavioural therapist(DBT) and have completed several DBTpostgraduate certificates - one most recently for Families and Adolescents;
I am a Master in Counselling;
Accredited Australian Counselling Association Supervisor/PACFA;
I hold a Bachelor of Social Sciences; and
Dual Diploma in Counselling and Welfare Work.
I have also run courses for families with headspace providing education on family wellbeing and the impact that mental ill health in our relatives has on carers.

My approach to supervision

Supervision is a time to be able to grow as a Family Peer Support Worker and Carer Consultant. I provide a safe and confidential space for my supervises to discuss their challenges and wins. Supervision is a place in which supervise should feel that confidentiality is honoured and observed. It is a time for reflection on their work and to nurture their growth in this very special field. As I have worked in the field for a number of years I can offer valuable and knowledgable support and supervision.

Perspective:
Family Carer
Specialty areas:
Peer support, Consumer or family carer consultant, Strategic thinking
Mode of delivery:
In person, Phone, Online
Frequency:
Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
Supervision size:
Group

  • Friday
    • (Afternoon)
I am flexible and work to accommodate my supervises especially if they have an urgent issue to discuss.
Bayside
Geographical area availability for supervision
$100
/
60minutes
A cancellation fee of $50.00 if the supervisee doesn't cancel or reschedule their supervision time with 24 hours notice will be incurred.