About me

I have been working in mental health lived experience roles for 5 years now, in various positions.

I thought my life would have taken me into professional sports or paramedicine, though I've turned into someone who would rather research and help as many people as possible through broader education and research.

I focus most of my work around the value of lived experience, social justice and human rights.

As a human, outside of work I have an aquarium and car hobby. I also have a German Shepherd, Forrest, who sometimes likes to make appearances online.

My experience

My career in mental health began as a Peer Worker at Wellways, as part of the new 'Out Together' Project primarily working with LQBTIQA+ consumers.

At Forensicare I worked for three years as a Consumer Consultant, and now as the Peer Workforce Coordinator where I have found joy in helping interested consumers see potential in themselves and supporting them to pursue a career in lived experience. As a Consumer Consultant and Coordinator, I have supervised other lived experience workers and lived experience/social work students.

Additional to conference presentations, an exciting part of my roles have been to travel interstate while visiting other services & learning the different ways lived experience can be done.

My current role/work

I currently work as the Peer Workforce Coordinator at Forensicare.
I was responsible for planning and implementing the Peer Workforce at Thomas Embling Hospital and now continue to shape the forensic lived experience workforce statewide.
Occasionally I will be found doing guest lectures about working alongside lived experience at RMIT School of Global, Urban & Social Studies.

My training

While my real-world experience of supervision is important, the relevant training that informs my supervision is:
- eCPR, VMIAC
- Intentional Peer Support
- Supervision Training, The Bouverie Centre
- The Science of Wellbeing, Yale University
- MHPOD Modules of consumer identify and advocacy, professional ethics, becoming an evidence based practitioner and culturally sensitive practice.

My approach to supervision

All my work is using a strengths-based approach that allows for self determination and relies upon accountability.

The way in which I supervise varies from person to person, to suit the needs of the supervisee. I like to work in quite a structured way that is not weirdly formal, yet still explorative.

We can choose to focus on the current 'hot topic' of your day, or work through reflections, challenges and solutions since we last met.

Supervision should be a dynamic process that you drive - I'm here to steer the growth.

Perspective:
Consumer
Specialty areas:
Peer support, Consumer or family carer consultant, Strategic thinking
Mode of delivery:
In person, Online
Frequency:
Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
Supervision size:
Individual, Group

  • Monday
    • (Evening)
  • Tuesday
    • (Evening)
  • Wednesday
    • (Evening)
  • Thursday
  • Friday
    • (Afternoon/
    • Evening)
Weekend appointments by prior discussion.
I can provide in-person supervision in the Inner & Outer Northern Suburbs, Melbourne.
Geographical area availability for supervision
$130
/
60minutes
Group Supervision: $100 pp/hour, with a maximum of 6 participants.
Individual supervision cost is $100 per hour if self-funding.